David Byrne and Brian Eno Are Back!

July 28, 2008


David Byrne and Brian Eno are collaborating on their first studio material since 1981's My Life in the Bush of Ghosts. Yes!

The fellas will be self-releasing "Everything That Happens Will Happen Today" on Aug. 18. The new LP will be available exclusively through the duo’s EverythingThatHappens.com website. David had a few words about the record…

Everything That Happens... is less a collage than the duo's previous effort of some 27 years ago and more a collection of songs. Whereas Bush Of Ghosts incorporated the contributions of 11 additional musicians along with a variety of "found" voices -- ranging from radio talk-show hosts to Lebanese mountain singers -- this latest recording almost exclusively features Byrne's lyrics and voice alongside Eno's various electronic tracks. "When we started this work, we started to think we were making something like electronic gospel: a music where singing was the central event, but whose sonic landscapes were not the type normally associated with that way of singing," says Eno. "This thought tapped into my long love affair with gospel music, which, curiously, was inadvertently initiated by David and the Talking Heads."

Sweet. The Talking Heads frontman will also be hitting the road with his "David Byrne, Songs of David Byrne and Brian Eno" tour. Here’s an odd clip of David breakin’ it down...

Here is the track list for "Everything That Happens Will Happen Today":

"My Big Nurse"
"I Feel My Stuff"
"Everything That Happens"
"Life Is Long"
"The River"
"Strange Overtones"
"Wanted For Life"
"One Fine Day"
"Poor Boy"
"The Lighthouse"