Top Shelf Tuesday - December 22

December 20, 2009

Tuesday is here, and you know what that means--it's time to start thinking about the latest hot releases. Luckily for you, we give you an exclusive pass to all things first class.

Source: TriStar Pictures


District 9 is arguably one of the best films of the year and it hits stores today on DVD and Blu-ray just in time for the holidays. The South African tale about alien refugees was directed by Neil Blompkamp and produced by Peter Jackson. The release comes with a ton of extra features, including deleted scenes, director’s commentary, a three-part documentary on the making on the film, and a special look at how the world of District 9 was created. So if you need a last minute stocking stuffer, you won’t go wrong with this film.

(500) Days of Summer is the debut feature from director Marc Webb and was one of the surprising hits of the year. The offbeat romantic comedy stars Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel and follows, in a non-linear way, the 500-day relationship between a greeting card writer and a girl named Summer.  The film is available on DVD and Blu-ray and contains deleted and extended scenes, a making-of featurette, interviews with the lead actors, audition tapes, and a digital copy of the film for portable media players. This is a great flick to put on as you snuggle up with your partner and sip eggnog or hot cocoa.



Source: Activision

The first instrument/controller-based music game series sets out to prove they're still the best with Guitar Hero: Van Halen. Rock out as the legendary '80s party band while dishing out the riffs to over 25 of the groups songs, including "Runnin' with the Devil," "Somebody Get Me a Doctor," "Spanish Fly," "Unchained," and "You Really Got Me." Good luck on the drum part to "Hot for Teacher," kid.



Source: Chelsea Lauren/Getty Images

Relapse: Refill is the re-release of Eminem's Relapse and includes seven bonus tracks, including the single "Forever." "I want to deliver more material for the fans this year like I originally planned" Eminem says of the new release. "Hopefully these tracks on The Refill will tide the fans over until we put out Relapse 2 next year." Get it, people.

We Are Young Money is a compilation album from Birdman’s Young Money Entertainment. Featured guests on the new record are Lloyd, Clyde McKnight, and Gucci Mane. The Young Money crew consists of Nicki Minaj, Drake, Jae Millz, Lil Twist, Tyga, Mack Maine, Gudda Gudda, Shanell, T- Streets & Lil Chuckee, and Lil Wayne. This record is sure to be filled with bangers for all fans of the southern hip-hop label.

Did we miss anything? Leave your recommendations in the comments.